Concours internationaux de la Ville de Paris

Martial Solal piano-jazz Competition

Next competition in 2006

Age limit : 35 years old

Rules in the making, full information will be available in 2005

3 rue des Couronnes - 75020 Paris - France
Tel. 33 (0)1 40 33 45 35
Fax 33 (0)1 40 33 45 38

Prizewinners and Jury of the previous competitions

1989 - 1998 - 2002

1st Martial Solal jazz piano competition - 1989

Chairmann : Martial Solal (France)
Gustavo Beytelmann (Argentina), Rex Billingham (United Kingdom), Franco d'Andrea (Italy), Tommy Flanagan (United States), Norbert Gamsohn (France), Janos Gonda (Hongary), André Hodeir (France), Vladimir Cosma (France)


Grand Prize of the City of Paris: Aydin Esen (Turkey)
2d Grand Prize : Marian Petrescu (Sweden)
3e Prix ex-aequo : Simon Nabatov (United States), Arcady Figlin (USSR)

Spedidam Prize for the best French participant : Manuel Rocheman (France)

2nd Martial Solal jazz piano competition - 1998

Chairman : Martial Solal (France)
Gordon Beck (United Kingdom), Gustavo Beytelmann (Argentina), Alex Dutilh (France), Aydin Esen (Turkey), Alain Gerber (France), André Hodeir (France), Chuck Israels (United States), Steve Lacy (United States)

Nationality of the candidates: 59 candidates for 26 countries
Germany (8), Armenia (2), Austria (1), Azerbaijan (1), Belgium (2), Bulgaria (1), Canada (3), Korea (1), Cuba (2), Spain (2), Estonia (1), Finland (1), France (14), Greece (2), Israe l (1), Italy (3), Japan (1), Mexico (1), Netherlands (2), Poland (2), Roumania (1), Russia (1), Sweden (2), Switzerland (1), Uruguay (1), USA (2).


Grand Prize of the City of Paris: Antonio Farao (Italy)
2nd Grand Prize: Franck Avitabile (France)
3rd Prize: Peter Beets (Netherlands)
4th Prize: Bernd Homann (Germany)

Prize for the most promising performer: Gabriel Zufferey (Switzerland)

Benjamin Moussay (France), Jens Thomas (Germany)

3rd Martial Solal jazz piano competition - 2002

Chairman : Martial Solal (France)
Gordon Beck (United Kingdom), Gustavo Beytelmann (Argentina), André Hodeir (France), François Jeanneau (France), Arnaud Merlin (France), Dan Morgenstern (USA), Xavier Prévost (France), Eric Watson (USA)

66 participants - 25 nationalities


Grand Prize of the City of Paris: Baptiste Trotignon (France)

2nd Grand Prize: Luis Perdomo (Venezuela)
3rd Prize: Tigran Hamasyan (Arménie)
4th Prize: Jesse Green (Etats-Unis)

Prize for the most promising performer: Mateusz Kolakowski (Pologne)

Mentions: Laurent Coq (France), Cédric Piromalli (France), Gabriel Zufferey (Suisse)

Baptiste Trotignon, François et Louis Moutin prizzewinner ceremony - Cité de la musique photo © Dominique Allié

Welcome CIVP - History & Awards

Rules 2006 - Rules 2010

Rules 2002 - Rounds 2002 - Jury 2002 - Participants 2002

Rules 1998